On this page you can find information about the Maudsley Charity Chair and Trustees, for information about Charity staff please visit Charity staff

Dr Matthew Patrick

Non-Executive Director

Dr Patrick is Chief Executive of South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust (SLaM). SLaM is an historic organisation within British mental health, an international center of mental health excellence, and a founder member of the Academic Health Science Centre, Kings Health Partners with Guys and St Thomas’, Kings College Hospital and Kings College London.

The Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience (IoPPN) is a school of King’s College London, and the relationship between SLaM and the IoPPN has been a driving force for improving mental health for close on a Century.

Prior to this appointment Dr Patrick was Chief Executive of the Tavistock and Portman NHS Foundation Trust in north London, a specialist mental health trust with a national role in the training and education of the mental health and social care workforce, and clinical specialisation in Child and Adolescent Mental Health services and psychological therapies.

Dr Patrick is also a Training and Supervising analyst for the British Psychoanalytical Society. Originally trained as an adult psychiatrist at the Maudsley and Bethlem Hospitals, for many years Dr Patrick combined clinical work and developmental research.  His published work has focused on the development and nature of adult personality and personality disorders.

Dr Patrick has contributed widely over many years to national mental health policy and strategy. Up until 2015 he was the Mental Health Director for NHS England, London Region and established the London Mental Health Strategic Clinical Network. He is a member of a number of boards including the Executive Board of Kings Health Partners AHSC, the South London CLAHRC, the Cicely Saunders Institute, the South East London STP and the Maudsley Charity. In addition he currently chairs the London Mental Health Response to Major Incidents Board.

Other Board Members